The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has provided an explanation for the decision to uphold Lionel Messi’s extra-time goal in the World Cup championship.
The goal has sparked debate in France, where many people believe it ought to have been disallowed.
In the second overtime period, Messi scored from close range to put Argentina ahead 3-2.
Two Argentina substitutes sauntered onto the field before the ball crossed the line, according to some commentators, hence the goal should have been ruled invalid.
A goal should be ruled invalid under FIFA regulations if there is an additional player on the field at the time it is scored.
However, IFAB had previously informed The Athletic that the regulation would only be applicable if the players impeded play.
After Kylian Mbappe tied the score at 3-3 with a penalty kick, Argentina went on to win the subsequent shootout 4-2 with a victory.